In March, Google engineers discovered a bug that could have given developers private data to hundreds of thousands of users of the Google+ social media network. The company chose not to disclose its discovery of the bug at the time. Reporters from the Wall Street Journal published a memo prepared by Google’s legal and policy staff and shared with senior executives warning that disclosing the incident would likely trigger “immediate regulatory interest” and invite comparisons to Facebook’s leak of user information to data firm Cambridge Analytica. In a blog post yesterday, Ben Smith, Google Fellow and vice president of engineering, announced that Google had “found no evidence that any developer was aware of this bug, or abusing the API, and we found no evidence that any Profile data was misused.”


via GIPHY

Google is shutting down the consumer version of Google+ 

As part of the post, Smith announced that Google is shutting down the consumer version of Google+, the beleaguered social network that was supposed to be Google’s answer to Facebook. However, users stayed away from it in droves.

Google will still support the “corporate social network” version of Google+ that is part of its paid version of G-Suite. “Google+ is better suited as an enterprise product where co-workers can engage in internal discussions on a secure corporate social network,” said Smith. “We’ve decided to focus on our enterprise efforts and will be launching new features purpose-built for businesses.”

Google will be shutting the consumer version of Google+ during the next 10-month period. Over the coming months, Google will provide Google+ users related information, including ways they can download and migrate their data.


What NOT to do! Do not confuse your Google+ Profile page with your Google business listing

If you manage a Google+ profile page for your business, DO NOT CONFUSE your Google+ profile page (that’s being shuttered) with your company’s Google business listing.

Your Google business listing (also called Google My Business) is a very, very important way to keep your Google listing up to date on search results and Google Maps.

For more information about managing your Google listing see: The SmallBusiness.com Guide to Managing a Listing on Google Search and Maps.

One more time

Google business listing |  GOOD
Google+ profile | GOING AWAY

Are you impatient? Here’s how to delete your Google+ profile anytime

  • Go to http://plus.google.com/downgrade
  • Sign in
  • If you see an upgrade page, you don’t have a Google+ profile.
  • If you don’t see an upgrade page, follow the instructions